Pisca-Dory’s Second Launch–and Was it Cold!

We launched Pisca-Dory on the Snake River at Swallows Nest today for her second run. My husband, who designed and built our 19.5-foot dory, wanted to test some new widgets he has added; and, evidently, we were also motivated to take up the challenge of boosting our cold hardiness. We withstood the barely above freezing temperature and biting wind speeds in the teens for more than two hours.

My husband shot the video and initial photo that I incorporated into it, and I wrote the captions, checking with him so I could properly identify the instruments. The new widgets I was sure of identifying correctly were the fishing rod holders.

I was unable to take any photos because I needed at all times to wear my warmest hand gear, which is too chunky and clumsy to make handling my camera possible. I even continued to wear my three-fingered gloves in the boat’s warm heated cabin.

On our Garmin fish finder, we could see fish 12-15 feet below us, but they were, in my husband’s words, “too sleepy and cold” to grab onto our enticing lures, even with the prospect of coming home with us.

The cold notwithstanding, we enjoyed a good time of it. We always enjoy fishing; and fishing is more about fishing than about fish, though we do find it delightful to bring fish home with us.

Leave a comment

Filed under Action & Being, Boats and Boat Building, Fishing, Videos, Weather

Leave a Reply

