The bass of the day

After finishing our Saturday chores, my husband and I went fishing on the Snake River at Chief Timothy Park today, surrounded by azure sky, Hells Canyon, and myriads of fish below us, as seen on our Garmin fish finder. After a little more than an hour, a 9″ bass latched on to Vic’s lure and agreeably permitted himself to be reeled in.

After about three hours on the River, I reckoned I was skunked again, but I never mind not catching any fish, though I’m always happy when I do. We headed back to the dock. Vic tethered Pisca-Dory to the dock and walked up to get our truck and boat trailer. While I waited the few minutes for him, I cast my line once from the dock, and reeled in an 11-1/2 inch bass!

I hailed Vic just as he arrived at the truck. The bass hadn’t fought at all as I reeled him in, but he was flipping vigorously as I held him up on the line, hoping he wouldn’t escape. I put on my grip gloves and secured him in our smaller cooler. Vic moved him to the larger cooler because it had more ice and better insulation. My focus was entirely on securing my catch; I hadn’t considered the coolers’ distinctives.

My bass is a beauty. And he wanted to come home with me! My skunking phase is broken, and will doubtless return. But today’s catch at the end of our fishing day reminds me that whatever is suspended for a season will almost always be renewed.  >><<>°

Vic at the tiller

I’m fishing, ever hopeful. . .

Onward!

The scenic walls of Hells Canyon

Vic holds my bass so I can photograph him

2 Comments

Filed under Action & Being, Fishing, Nature, Photo Galleries

2 responses to “The bass of the day

  1. I’m still a little perplexed. You don’t eat fish…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

