Safely out of the canal zone

I’ve had a sinus infection for going on two weeks. If that were not enough, an old pain in one of my teeth returned, right at the site of the root canal my dentist performed five years ago. I aced the procedure, but had zero desire for a replay.

Thursday afternoon, after two days of throbbing, I called my dentist’s office and explained the return of the pain. The sympathetic receptionist worked me in for an appointment Monday. The office is closed Friday, and she told me I should not hesitate to call my dentist on his cell phone Friday if the pain became unmanageable. He would come in to the office with an assistant and check out the problem.

I knew that. My dentist is a superior being. He once met my husband and me at his office, the evening of Memorial Day. He drafted his son-in-law to assist him.

Today is Friday. I awoke to an ancient memory. I have had this pain before. It’s some kind of knack with me, to get sinus infections; I have had a lot of them. The maxillary sinuses have a nerve relay indistinguishably near the back teeth, where my root canal was done.

I checked my back teeth in the mirror. Aha! My gums in the canal zone were significantly inflamed. The connection light finally switched on.

I deduced that the pain had nothing to do with my teeth or the root canal, but was due to sinus inflammation. The throbbing subsided within half an hour after taking an anti-inflammatory combo of ibuprofen and acetaminophen.

I’m still trying to decide whether to take consolation from the theory that, at this point in life, my teeth are better than my memory.

8 Comments

Filed under Action & Being, Health, Reflections

8 responses to “Safely out of the canal zone

  1. Infection? Hate the dentist. Just hate it. My year on Oxy ended in a very small filling where the dentist needed to give me 3 ( you hear me? 3!) injections. He likened me to a horse!

    Like

  2. Glad to hear there is no remedial dental work in your immediate future! I have similar ongoing issues and dread the next needed crown replacement or root canal. My dentist is great too but I would rather see him as little as possible! Hope your sinus infection is cleared up soon! 🙂

    Like

  3. Heidi

    So glad you’re feeling better, L. Medicine is such a blessing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

