Spring is here, and my PTSD is melting

Effie’s sunshine greeting far exceeds the melting point of PTSD.

At last I am gaining perspective. It’s still weak, but I am coming around to believing that an auto accident a year ago in which no one was significantly hurt (except for a torn tendon in my right elbow that hurt for nine months; and Grünhilde, my Audi and a veritable member of the family, who was totaled) is not a sufficient reason to torque my worldview downward.

With the help of God through His Word, and my husband, my pastor and Effie, now on therapy cat duty (as she probably always has been), I am able to concede that every driver on the road is not specifically out to harm me.

Particular noteworthy Bible verses coalesced in my attention sphere this morning.

“It is not for you to know times or seasons which the Father has put in His own authority.” Acts 1:7

For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed in us.” Romans 8:18

“Behold, I am vile;
What shall I answer You?
I lay my hand over my mouth.” Job 40:4

(All verses above are from the New King James Version (NKJV), © 1982 by Thomas Nelson. Used by permission. All rights reserved.)

18 Comments

Filed under Action & Being, Effie, Faith, Reflections

18 responses to “Spring is here, and my PTSD is melting

  1. Being a victim of being struck by a car myself, just over 2 years ago, I know how the PTSD seems to flare up instantly, when you sense a car is being driven carelessly or coming towards me. Sometimes it affects me more than other times, however it has a greater impact than just myself, it affects me in my work, my relationships and my spirit

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jane

    Beautiful attitude. Praise God for the perspective He makes possible for us in His Word. Only He could’ve ever placed such wisdom before us, which is ours for the taking. Grace upon grace, for those who suffer.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So trying to avoid a pre-dinner kip here in Melb on a Friday evening. That picture of zeffie is not helping. About to go into Autumn here. Cheers,H

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Good news. 🙂 Spring always follows winter where all seemed dead and hopeless. Thank God for giving us this picture of resurrection in nature. Also thank Him for giving us cats!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

