Things I learn from my cat (when I pay attention)

Our weather is beginning to moderate somewhat. The temperature here at Rabbitbrush and its fenced centroid, Effieland, now exceeds freezing, and rain is expected. Our deck, lawn, and fields, like the hills beyond us, remain covered with high-boot snow. Effie has patrolled her holdings off and on throughout the day, but for the most part has chosen to remain indoors, napping, moving between nap venues, looking out windows, asking to be let out but remaining in while she contemplates the advantages of both sides of the door, and snacking.

Halvor loves his tenancy in the shop, where he has a stack of blankets for a bed, food and water, and a litter box. I check on him and let him out for a while when he desires to go out. When I see him sitting at the shop door again, I let him back in. He has it pretty good here, and I’m glad he seems to know it, because I am happy he likes hanging out with us. He is courtly toward Effie, and she appears at times to adore him. At other times they seem chagrined with one another. Who knows why. . .

The expected rain arrived, propelled by deep-toned gusts of wind. Effie is indifferent; she is indoors, after all, without risk of compromising her comfort. She often finds strange comfort in opening cupboards and banging them shut. It’s a Cat Thing; I wouldn’t understand, not even after a year and a half with Effie and 17 years with Coolidge, her predecessor. There are certain things that cats do, and I have no idea why they do these things.

I am convinced that cats teach in their sleep, and they also teach while their people sleep. Cats I have known have found it most important to teach me who they are, that I am blessed with the incredibly good fortune of having them in my life, and what they require of me. They will also devote a portion of their curriculum to their food preferences.

Cats are really pretty straightforward about the parameters of shared lives. They rule with finely honed claws in soft fur paws. They also possess keen teeth. They also sleep, look out the window, and look up into their person’s face as if they beheld an epiphany.

Don’t be fooled. Just feed your cat when she first yowls near her bowl; lay off grooming her when she first commences shredding your hand; do not administer a playful tummy rub while she is sleeping—and no one gets hurt. . .See how easy life with cats can be? ^-.-^

p1020543

6 Comments

Filed under Action & Being, Cats, Effie, Halvor, Photos

6 responses to “Things I learn from my cat (when I pay attention)

  1. Heidi

    I love to read of Effie’s life lessons! How perfect of cats, after all these lessons, to look up into their person’s face as if they beheld an epiphany ….

    Like

  2. I dared get back into bed this morning after only giving her a few dry bits of food. (She had 6 bowls of barely touched wet food!) and she touched me with her paw…..first on my hand, then on my nose! I growled and she retreated to go back to sleep!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. All good lessons. I’m glad to hear Effie remains content even inside. Benji doesn’t understand why all this rain has to fall forcing him to remain inside. As a result he is now running stir crazy around the house. The special joys of having cats in our home!

    Like

Leave a Reply

