Are all of our presidents going to be brambles?

As I was reading Judges last night, I suddenly realized Jotham’s parable of the trees at Chapter 9, vv. 7-15 bears an alarming allusion to our own American political time. Jotham’s insinuation tracks closely a suspicion long harbored by many Americans: the suspicion that those who desire power are those who have nothing better to do with their lives.

7 Now when they told Jotham, he went and stood on top of Mount Gerizim, and lifted his voice and cried out. And he said to them:
“Listen to me, you men of Shechem,
That God may listen to you!

8 “The trees once went forth to anoint a king over them.
And they said to the olive tree,
‘Reign over us!’

9 But the olive tree said to them,
‘Should I cease giving my oil,
With which they honor God and men,
And go to sway over trees?’

10 “Then the trees said to the fig tree,
‘You come and reign over us!’

11 But the fig tree said to them,
‘Should I cease my sweetness and my good fruit,
And go to sway over trees?’

12 “Then the trees said to the vine,
‘You come and reign over us!’

13 But the vine said to them,
‘Should I cease my new wine,
Which cheers both God and men,
And go to sway over trees?’

14 “Then all the trees said to the bramble,
‘You come and reign over us!’

15 And the bramble said to the trees,
‘If in truth you anoint me as king over you,
Then come and take shelter in my shade;
But if not, let fire come out of the bramble
And devour the cedars of Lebanon!’

New King James Version (NKJV). Scripture taken from the New King James Version®. Copyright © 1982 by Thomas Nelson. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

I admit I think the worst: our coming election is going to be a tangle of brambles. But that is not unusual.

3 Comments

Filed under Action & Being, News, People, Places, & Things, Reflections, Thoughts & Reading

3 responses to “Are all of our presidents going to be brambles?

  1. oh, btw, please say a little prayer for me as that awful nausea that happens when you need a 5 mg “boost” pill has been with me on and off the last few days…winter is hard for us Addisonians…gotta be vigilant, SS

    Like

  2. What an intriguing passage– I know it but have not read it in a long time– at first glance, I see a parallel with “oh happy fault of Adam that sent us such a merciful Savior” in the verse “let fire come out of the bramble and devour the cedars…” I am not sure if my first reading of these verses is on sure footing; but, I do know that corruption in the secular and sacred world will be with us til the He comes. As for next fall, there are other signs pointing to goodness, truth and beauty among those who exercise secular leadership…you should friend me on FB as I have some uplifting links to March for Life in DC just last month…My mom was a politician in KY for years, and I saw a mixed bag for sure, and alot of goodness, alot of folks using their God-given talents to serve true justice, to love others as Christ loves us…well, warm regards this very chilly day, YSIC, SS

    Like

Leave a Reply

