Recent vantages

My recent migraine jag lasted just a week: a brief season, all in all. I chalked it up to cottonwood, a well-favored allergen in Palouse country. Our next-door neighbor has a humongously tall cottonwood tree, of which he is very proud. In February, the pollen attacks my sinuses, in May the fluff evidently triggers migraines; I hadn’t noted the correlation before. I sometimes wish cottonwood trees were illegal in residential areas, but then everyone would have them.

I was reflecting yesterday, which was Mother’s Day, on how fervently fond I am of my mother-in-law. She is like Naomi to me, though I am nothing like Ruth. I think I adore her so much because I know where good husbands come from.

I sometimes put myself through more discomfiting reflections on my own mother; these are more discomfiting because they invoke more self-scrutiny. I have finally whittled the dynamic down to something comprehensible: My mother’s inheritance from my grandfather was his disapproval, and she spent it lavishly on me.

Reading Ninety-three, Victor Hugo’s epic of the French Revolution, has not been awfully cheering, and it probably should not be. After all, the Whites (Royalists) represent the sacrifice of natural law and the liberty conferred thereby, to the imputed virtues of a few. The Blues (Republicans), on the other hand, represent a Godless reassignment of all to a fictive state of equality, empowered by self-rule, which necessarily means anarchy, and is inevitably destructive to order.

What is specifically less than cheering about this, is to see similar perspectives in current American politics. We still have a largely European heritage—a sort of inheritance—that some, who are in or seeking power, evidently think we are lavishing on ourselves, and not entirely to our good:

(CNSNews.com) – Democratic presidential hopeful Hillary Clinton says women won’t have full access to “reproductive health care” until “deep-seated cultural codes, religious beliefs and structural biases” are changed.

Does Madame La Guillotine now command newly reconditioned versions of liberty, equality, and fraternity, in the name of “Reproductive Health Care?”

22For as the new heavens and the new earth
that I make
shall remain before me, says the Lord,
so shall your offspring and your name remain.

23From new moon to new moon,
and from Sabbath to Sabbath,
all flesh shall come to worship before me,
declares the Lord.

24“And they shall go out and look on the dead bodies of the men who have rebelled against me. For their worm shall not die, their fire shall not be quenched, and they shall be an abhorrence to all flesh.”

—Isaiah 66:22-24 (ESV)

Mercy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Action & Being, Thoughts & Reading

Leave a Reply

