An unusual form

1027131926

Delicata squashes normally are long, like zucchini, only huskier. A round delicata can result if its blossom chances a visitation with pollen from a pumpkin plant. Since we have delicatas and zucchini, but no pumpkin vines, a neighbor’s pumpkin pollen was presumably transported by wind or an insect.

Whatever its means of coming about, we thought it very cute, but my husband thought it would be even cuter with a face, which he provided. I agree, and I just like the whimsy of having a delicata.

2 Comments

Filed under People, Places, & Things

2 responses to “An unusual form

  1. Your delicata reminds me of my dear, late tabby, Mr. Pickles, he of the handsome stripes. I really enjoy your blog! Lisa

    Like

Leave a Reply

