Yesterday’s epiphany and today’s fall kitchen

My kitchen windows are open; the ceiling fan is on. This is the time of year that I can enjoy the cooling fall breeze without the dust that comes with summer.

This morning I roasted two of the pork tenderloins I ordered from our friendly neighborhood market. I’ll be buying our meat there from now on. It’s fresher than what I was getting at Albertsons, and it has no injected fluid junk that may or may not contain gluten. It even cost $2 a pound less than I’d been paying at Albertsons. Besides, it was a Weird Al Day at Albertsons’ meat department last week.

I have also made a buckwheat chocolate-orange cake, using a modified recipe for the buckwheat banana cake I made last week. I’ll post my recipe if anyone wants me to.

And I have beans cooking, with cumin, salt, and some oregano from our garden. I cook beans year-round for my husband, but the steaming bean pot seems to me most emblematic of fall.

Whether it’s the time of year or the time of life, an epiphany exploded in a friendly sector of my brain yesterday. I was driving home from some errands, and I was suddenly overwhelmed with how immense the gratuitous favor is that I should live in the church age. The grace of such a boon overcame all frustrations, unresolved misunderstandings, my sense of inadequacy—everything was just scaled down for some moments of time as I realized that, for thousands of years, a great many people lived without the blessing of church-centered lives.

I lived without the blessing of a church-centered life for many years; and after God graciously conferred this blessing on me, I was not always appreciative. I did not always understand how wonderful a thing it was. I also began, though very incompletely, to understand what made the Church something the martyrs were willing to suffer and die for.

So here I am, with a trove of good food I have prepared in my pretty, well-lit kitchen with its large windows looking out on a pleasant neighborhood and the everlasting hills, and a church-centered life. “O to grace how great a debtor/ Daily I’m constrained to be!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Action & Being, Pneumatos

Leave a Reply

