Snippets from a recent tour of reality

I’m at a loss to express the beauty of the day, but my husband shot this photo of our flax in its full glory; and it’s straw-hat weather, even with the wind.

Flax 5.4.13

I have all three of our local Starbucks stores trained! I am able to get a pour-over of Espresso Roast when the brewed coffee they are serving as the Bold of the Day is a medium roast instead of a dark, with no quizzical expressions from the crew! While this may have little impact on 99.9% of the world’s population, it keeps my Starbucks Experience from faltering from superlative into borderline dreadful.

I’ve been losing interest in the news for some time; or maybe it’s simply been too difficult to assign myself Things with which I Should Probably be Somewhat Conversant. I find my overwrought sympathies fleeing to Anzor Tsarnaev. His wife is a moonbat from hell, his psycho-bomber sons didn’t exactly make good in America, and he is back someplace in Russia, his once respectable life now ignominious and utterly broken. All else seems mundane, and the senior Tsarnaev’s plight is too melancholy to follow. Running concurrently was coverage of the White House Correspondents Dinner, which gave me to realize that the President, when laughing at his own jokes, bears a fair resemblance to Chuck E Cheese. I would prefer never to have known this.

I think that at some point I just feel robbed. The media would extort the mental and emotional energy that is better spent on individuals with whom I share a wonderful montage of shared reality that is founded in eternal truth. My hope is not in transient images and events. Hope is found only in eternal truth, and all else must be interpreted by revealed eternal truth; for instance, this:

23 Behold the storm of the Lord!
Wrath has gone forth,
a whirling tempest;
it will burst upon the head of the wicked.
24 The fierce anger of the Lord will not turn back
until he has executed and accomplished
the intentions of his mind.
In the latter days you will understand this. –Jer. 30:23-24 (ESV)

1 Comment

Filed under People, Places, & Things

One response to “Snippets from a recent tour of reality

  1. ‘The media would extort the mental and emotional energy that is better spent on individuals with whom I share a wonderful montage of shared reality that is founded in eternal truth.’ What a beautiful and profound expression of something I have also come to feel, my L, without being able to put it so — *completely*.

    Like

Leave a Reply

