Well, we call it winter

Winter is generally a modest affair in southeastern Washington’s Lewis-Clark Valley; we don’t get the subzero weather of Montana, but sufficient snow usually falls to sustain healthy growth of winter wheat. Today marked our first respectable snowfall, and snow still falls as I write this. My neighbors’ horses frolic happily in their snow-filled corrals. It’s not too cold: 34°. The hills are completely veiled in white, and my husband is just so happy to take a spin with his tractor blade before setting out for town. Wearing just my slacks and sweater with only my lab coat (I hate aprons) for cover, I ventured out into my yard to shoot a brief chronicle of this year’s first ground-covering snow.

While the earth remains,
Seedtime and harvest,
Cold and heat,
Winter and summer,
And day and night
Shall not cease. — Genesis 8:22

3 Comments

Filed under People, Places, & Things, Photo Galleries

3 responses to “Well, we call it winter

  1. (I don’t think I’ve ever seen dead horses in the snow either, in case you were wondering.)

    Like

  2. Oh how wonderful! I don’t think I have ever seen live horses in the snow (and somehow it seems like they belong together).

    Like

  3. mo

    Lovely photos Lauren!

    Like

Leave a Reply

